2024 Call for Papers

Lipscomb University, Nashville, TN
March 15–16, 2024

Keynote Speaker:
Dr. Victoria Malawey (Macalester College)
“She Who Digs: Timbre, Voice, and Lateral Placement in Björk’s Fossora”

Graduate Student Workshop
Christopher Brody (University of Louisville)
“Analyzing Vocal Music of the Baroque: Concepts and Categories”

The program committee for the Music Theory Southeast (MTSE) and the South Central Society for Music Theory (SCSMT) joint meeting, hosted by Lipscomb University in Nashville, TN, on March 15–16, 2024, invites proposals on any topic related to music theory, analysis, or music theory pedagogy. As part of the conference, graduate students are invited to apply for a workshop analyzing Baroque vocal music led by Dr. Christopher Brody. We are also pleased to announce that our keynote speaker will be Dr. Victoria Malawey.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 11:59 P.M. CST December 3, 2023

Submission Guidelines: Please submit a single document in .pdf format via this Google form. Proposals must be no more than 500 words, including footnotes or endnotes. (Each mathematical equation may be counted as one word.) Proposals should articulate the paper’s premise and its relation to existing music-theoretical research and provide some illustration of applications. In addition to the 500-word proposal, submissions may include up to four pages of supplementary materials (e.g., figures, tables, examples, or bibliography). Supplemental materials may include text annotations, but these annotations should not appreciably add to the word count of the proposal. Since proposals will be evaluated anonymously, author tags must be removed from .pdf files and references to the author’s own work must be in the third person.

Questions on the proposal guidelines can be directed to Program Committee Chair Olivia Lucas at olivialucas1@lsu.edu.

Presentation Formats: Submissions may be made for 20-minute papers, 10-minute lightning talks, or poster presentations. Authors may request their proposal be considered for any or all the available formats. The program committee reserves the right to request a proposal in an alternate format, as necessary.

Submission Restrictions: Only a single submission from an author will be considered. Previously published papers or papers given at national or international conferences will not be considered.

Submission Deadline: To be considered, submissions should be received before 11:59 p.m. CST on December 3, 2023, through the Google Forms portal. Authors will be notified electronically of the Program Committee’s decision in early January 2024.

Student Paper Award: Graduate students who wish to be considered for either the MTSE Irna Priore Prize or the SCSMT Student Paper Award will be asked to indicate interest in the Google Forms submission. Candidates must submit a copy of their complete paper to the program chair (olivialucas1@lsu.edu) by Friday, February 23, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. CST. Winners from previous years are ineligible.

Graduate Student Workshop: Students in music theory and related fields may apply to join the graduate student workshop via the Google form application. The deadline to apply is Thursday February 15, 2024.

MTSE and SCSMT 2024 Joint Program Committee:
Olivia Lucas, Program Committee Chair (Louisiana State University)
William Ayers (University of Central Florida)
Jacob Eichhorn, 2023 Irna Priore Prize for Student Research Winner (Eastman School of Music)
Laura Emmery, MTSE President (Emory University)
Pamela Mason-Nguyen, 2023 SCSMT Student Paper Award Winner (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Xieyi “Abby” Zhang (Georgia State University)

Local Arrangements:
Jennifer Snodgrass (Lipscomb University)