2013 Call for Papers




University of Alabama

Tuscaloosa, AL March 15 – 16, 2013

The South Central Society for Music Theory announces its 2013 Annual Meeting at the University of Alabama, in Tuscaloosa on Friday and Saturday, March 15 – 16, 2013. The program committee invites proposals on any topic related to music theory, analysis, or pedagogy. Proposals should be for 20-minute presentations.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: Monday, January 7, 2013. Confirmation of proposals received will be made electronically upon their receipt. Authors will be notified electronically of the Program Committee’s decision by February 1, 2013.

Submission format:

1. Proposals and abstracts may be sent via email to steinbron@louisiana.edu with the subject line: “SCSMT 2013 Proposal.” Please be sure that your name does not appear in any attached .pdf files, including as metadata in the .pdf document. Please include the following in your email:

a. A proposal of no more than 500 words, including any footnotes or endnotes.

(One mathematical equation may be counted as one word.) A maximum of four

pages of supplementary materials (e.g. examples, selected bibliography, etc.) may be appended; these pages will not be counted within the 500-word limit. The proposal must include the title of the paper but exclude the author’s name and any other identifying information.

b. A cover letter, written as the body of your email, that includes the author’s name, paper title, institutional affiliation or city of residence, phone number(s), e-mail address, and any technical requirements for the presentation.

c. A 200–250 word abstract suitable for publication.

2. The Society will present an award for the best student presentation at the 2013 meeting. To be eligible for consideration, interested students should identify themselves in the cover letter and, if their proposals are accepted, must submit a PDF of their complete paper to the Program Chair by March 4, 2013. Winners from previous years are ineligible.

Program Committee:

Matt Steinbron, Chair (University of Louisiana)

Tom Robinson (University of Alabama)

Rebecca Long (Mars Hill College)

Tim Saeed, Student Representative (Louisiana State University)