South-Central Society for Music Theory Business Meeting Saturday 16 March 2019

Meeting called to order at 12:01 p.m. by Ben Wadsworth (Kennesaw State University), President.

Approval of Minutes

- Meeting minutes from 2018 had been made available to view online.
- Rebecca Long (Independent Scholar) moved to vote to approve 2018 minutes, seconded by Samuel H. Stokes (NSULA). Minutes were approved by acclamation.

Reports

- President Ben Wadsworth (Kennesaw State) expressed thanks to: workshop leaders
 Trevor de Clercq (Middle Tennessee State) and Daniel Shanahan (The Ohio State); Jeff
 Perry (LSU) and Inessa Bazayev (LSU) for local arrangements; program chair, Clare Eng
 (Belmont), and members of the program committee; SCSMT executive committee;
 Rebecca Long (Independent) for SCSMT social media coordination.
- Treasurer Joe Brumbeloe (USM) distributed printed account reports. Balance as of 26 March 2018 was \$1,773.32.
- Social Media Chair Rebecca Long (Independent) urges members to follow SCSMT on all social media, especially Twitter. Long presents a written social media policy. Trevor de Clercq (MTSU) moves to vote to add this policy to the SCSMT bylaws, seconded by Jeremy Orosz (Memphis), and the motion passes by acclamation. An edited version of this policy will appear in the bylaws at a later date. Long names Madison Coffey (As-Yet-Unaffiliated Graduate Student) as her social media co-chair.
- Program Chair Clare Eng (Belmont) awards the best student paper award to John Y. Lawrence (University of Chicago). Eng announces several demographics of this year's program: total of 51 proposals submitted, most authors preferring to present papers to lightning talks; 22 acceptances, 8 lightning talks; 6 declines, invited 5 backups; 14 males, 8 females; 17 Ph.D. submissions, 34 non-Ph.D. Eng stresses the importance of maintaining a paper wait list to encourage conference attendance

Business

- Update on Elections (Wadsworth): Secretary position is open; thanks to Adam Hudlow (NSULA) for his service for 2017–2019 term. A new SCSMT President will be elected next year, because of SCSMT bylaw policy on term limits.
- Nomination and Election of Secretary (Wadsworth): Candidate #1 is Nathan Fleshner, Assistant Professor of Music Theory, University of Tennessee. No candidates come from the floor. Fleshner is elected by acclamation and will serve 2019–2021.
- Announcement of 2019 Program Committee Members (Wadsworth): chair is Jeremy Orosz (Memphis); voting members are Adam Hudlow (NSULA), Wesley Bradford (UL Lafayette), John Y. Lawrence (Chicago), and two others to be announced at a later date.
- 2020 SCSMT conference information (Eng): Belmont University, joint meeting with College Music Society South, hosted by Clare Eng, February 28–March 1. Eng mentions a potential career development session at the conference. Jeff Perry (LSU) suggests a special session for undergraduate presentations, possibly with respondents in place of Q&A, and even travel money provided by SCSMT. Proposals for research on improvisation and undergraduate papers are highly encouraged for the 2020 meeting.

<u>Discussion/Announcement Topics</u>

- Ben Wadsworth (Kennesaw State) announces that he will send around a poll this summer about raising faculty registration rates in the future.
- There is a general discussion of workshops for next year's meeting, especially details about their meeting times.
- Wadsworth reviews several points from the 2019 SCSMT member survey (posted on SCSMT website).
- There is a proposal from the floor to amend the call for papers so that no papers are given by proxy/distance. No vote takes place.
- Wadsworth announces that SCSMT will be adding credit card payments and possibly online pre-registration via a service such as PayPal.
- Calre Eng (Belmont) discusses potential for SCSMT to create a written publication in the future.

Meeting adjourned at 12:45 p.m. Adam Hudlow (NSULA) moved to close, seconded by Jeremy Orosz (Memphis). Motion was approved by acclamation.