South-Central Society for Music Theory Business Meeting Saturday, 24 March 18, 2018

Meeting called to order at 12:41 p.m. by Ben Wadsworth (Kennesaw State University), President.

Approval of Minutes

- Meeting minutes from 2017 had been made available to view online.
- Jeremy Orosz (Memphis) moved to vote to approve 2017 minutes, seconded by Rebecca Long (UMass). Minutes were approved by acclamation.

<u>Reports</u>

- President Ben Wadsworth (Kennesaw State) expressed thanks to: local arrangements chair, Doug Rust (USM); program chair, Jeff Yunek (Kennesaw State), and members of the program committee; the SCSMT executive committee; keynote speaker Daniel Harrison (Yale); and graduate student workshop leader Scott Murphy (Kansas).
- Treasurer Joe Brumbeloe (USM) distributed printed accounts reports.
- Program Chair Jeff Yunek (Kennesaw State) distributed demographics information for the conference. Acceptance rate was 36.5%. Issues raised included the need for guidelines for submissions by expecting mothers and fathers, as well as clearer guidelines for group presentations.
- The best student paper award goes to Andrew Selle (Florida State) for his paper "Formal Function in Electroacoustic Music: A Spectromorphological Approach."

Business

- Election, presided by Adam Hudlow (NSULA): Ben Wadsworth (Kennesaw State) was nominated to serve as President for a second consecutive term. He was elected by acclamation.
- Program Committee for 2019 conference announced: Clare Sher Ling Eng (Belmont University), chair; Jeremy Orosz (Memphis); Angela Ripley (Alabama); and Andrew Selle (FSU).
- LSU Meeting 2019: There was a proposal that the meeting include Mannes-style workshops.
- Proposed locations for 2020 conference: Alabama, or possible joint meeting with South-Central AMS.
- Yearly membership fee: Wadsworth proposes to raise fees from \$20/\$15 for Faculty/grad student members to \$30/\$20, respectively. Jeremy Orosz (Memphis) suggests a vote on each change separately.
 - VOTE: \$30 for faculty—proposal passes by majority vote.
 - VOTE: \$20 for grad students—proposal fails by majority vote.
 - Dues now stand at \$30 for faculty, and \$15 for grad students.
- Jeff Yunek (Kennesaw State) stressed that fast turnaround from proposals to invitations by the program committee is crucial to the quality of each year's program.
- Wadsworth brought up the possibility of video streaming all or part of future SCSMT meetings. Suggestions included Facebook or YouTube live streaming (which led to a mention that SCSMT needs social media!). Concerns include copyright issues, and the possibility that streaming could reduce conference attendance.

Meeting adjourned at 1:07 p.m. Jeff Yunek (Kennesaw State) moved, seconded by Rebecca Long (UMass). Motion was approved by acclamation.